Stations of the Cross Guided Prayer



The Son of God had to go to the grave, so that Father’s love and power could be revealed. We invite you to join us as we reflect on Jesus’ journey to the cross and his death for our sin. Please join us in prayer and reflection.

Stations of the Cross (Latin: Via Crucis) visually represent Jesus’ suffering. The stations begin with the condemnation by Pontius Pilate and end at the tomb of Jesus.  


  • Begin the video and read along with the narration.

  • On the Pause and Reflect slides stop the video to pray and reflect on the Station of the Cross just spoken of.

  • Open your heart to the suffering of Jesus and the suffering of others. Draw yourself closer to your Lord and Savior and to your brothers and sisters.

Play Video



El Hijo de Dios tuvo que ir a la tumba, para que el amor y el poder del Padre pudieran ser revelados. Te invitamos a unirte a nosotros mientras reflexionamos sobre el viaje de Jesús a la cruz y su muerte por nuestro pecado. Únase a nosotros en oración y reflexión.

Las Estaciones de la Cruz representan visualmente el sufrimiento de Jesús. Las estaciones comienzan con la condena de Poncio Pilato y terminan en la tumba de Jesús.


  • Comience el video y lea junto con la narración.

  • Pausa y reflexiona En las diapositivas, detenga el video para orar y reflexionar sobre la Estación de la Cruz de la que acabamos de hablar.

  • Abre tu corazón al sufrimiento de Jesús y al sufrimiento de los demás. Acércate más a tu Señor y Salvador y tus hermanos y hermanas.

The History of the Way of the Cross:

The Way of the Cross is a Christian tradition that dates back to the very early Church. Not long after Christ’s death, His followers would visit the physical locations throughout Jerusalem that marked Jesus’s suffering and death. Some traditions state that the Blessed Virgin Mary would visit these sites daily during her life. St. Jerome commented before his death in 420, that pilgrims were coming from all over Christendom to follow the path Jesus took to His death.  

Still, the exact beginnings of this pious practice are uncertain. We do know that in the 12th century, when the Franciscans were allowed to return to the previously seized Holy Land they created a specific route for pilgrims to follow in order to live out those last hours Jesus spent on this earth. 

It wasn’t until the 15th century that outdoor shrines that mimicked the Holy Places in Jerusalem began to pop up around Europe, giving those people unable to make the complicated journey to Jerusalem a chance to still follow Christ’s final steps. At the time, the number of stations varied greatly from place to place, with some having up to 30 stations to visit. 

The practice we have today – of the specific 14 stations – was firmly established by Pope Clement XII in 1731. Today, you’ll frequently see these 14 stations – often paintings or carvings – mounted on the walls of a Church or Chapel and even spread throughout a cemetery.